The book Six Thinking Hats  is indeed a very good one to unveil the skill of thinking methods.

Here below is a brief introduction of fuction of each hats:

White Hat

White is neutral and objective. The white hat is concerned with objective facts and figures.


Red Hat

Red suggests anger (seeing red), rage and emotions. The red hat gives the emotional view.


Black Hat

Black is somber and serious. The black hat is cautious and careful. It points out the weaknesses in an idea.


Yellow Hat

Yellow is sunny and positive. The yellow hat is optimistic and covers hope and positive thinking.


Green Hat

Green is grass, vegetation and abundant, fertile growth. The green hat indicates creativity and new ideas.


Blue Hat

Blue is cool, and it is also the colour of the sky, which is above everything else. The blue hat is concerned with control, the organization of the thinking process and the use of the other hats.


You could find a good summary of this book at:


Keep thinkin’

Jeff Wang

15 February 2009