每个人都希望自己所在的公司、组织有着良好的文化,而每个公司、组织的创始人更是希望如此。因此,很多公司都会花一定的时间与精力去写Mission Statement,Culture,Vision等等。

很多公司都写着自己公司的文化是什么什么,然而经过观察其公司的员工,我们总会发现这其实只是管理层的愿望,然后写出来自我感觉良好而已,真正实质性的东西或者是效果却是一点也没有。一句话,为了有culture而culture.

与大多数创始人一样,我开Seeds这个group的时候我也希望我们能够是一个很有文化氛围的团体,但具体是怎么样的呢?我还没有想过,我只知道我要在实践的过程中不停地去完善。要开出一张清单再简单不过了,因为internet上面大把,而且都是雷同。我自己的想法是文化是实践出来的,是做出来的,而不是说出来或者写在公司的网页上就可以完成的。我应该把我的时间跟精力放在如何make it happen上面,也就是如何living out a culture.

Seeds从6月26日建立到现在,我非常努力地做着一些事情,但由于精力、时间、能力等方面的局限,我知道很难一步到位。其中有一个问题,我想也是所有Group都会遇到的,就是成员参与的程度不高。具体表现为组织者发了大量的信息或者文章希望引起大家的思考,但是很少成员会参与到其讨论之中,活动程度不高。

很多人都会觉得这是个棘手的问题,也会有很多人把这个问题归因于成员的素质问题,这就好比一个公司,老板总觉得事情做得不好,肯定是员工素质不够导致的。不过在Seeds,我专注的是如何让到事情发生,因此我决定去了解其真正的原因,并理解大家的难处,看看如何能把事情做好。我始终有一个信念,就是当一大群有good intention的人在一起却不能make something happen的时候,一般都是沟通上面需要改进,而往往经过真正的沟通后,问题总能迎刃而解。

昨天我尝试去了解这一问题的真正原因,以下是我们的对话,我觉得很有普遍性:

Jeff Wang: or in other words, you may let me know

1. the reason you don’t comment or exchagne idea;

2. what could trigger your thougth to comment;

3. how about others if you have discuss with them?

Seed Member: ok . first comes my thought. 1. no time. 2. no experience. no “共鸣” on some issues. so no comment. 3.yes we found “seeds” .but i do not know what i can contritute and what i can do in daily life. just receive your emails and reply? 4. others did not reply too.    :S

i will not too.   will you be sad after what i said . oh…

Jeff Wang: no. that’s reasonable. and i appreciate that and i feel happy coz i know something real happening among us. when we know where the problem lies in, we may find a solution.

Seed Member: one more problem. maybe only my problem. we have just left school and joined the society. feel confused and have many thoughts about job, about life,…feel terrible and pessimistic sometimes. so in some time i have no passion about seeds. thougth i know it will be good for me, for people,for society.and i am willing to  contribute.

Jeff Wang: that’s what Seeds is found to help. you know, when you guys are confused, if there is someone who is around and share some experience with you, wouldn’t it be better off?

这就是沟通的magic power拉。我觉得造成目前困难的原因再明显不过了,我做为founder,应该是最清楚所有事情的人,但是我还没有整理好自己的思路,还没有把其有效地传达给Seeds的每一个成员,还没有写General Guideline for Seeds,还有很多很多没有做的事情。

因此,接下来我要做的事情:

Phase 1: 在General Guideline出来之前 [target date: 26 Jul 2009]

1. 用简单讨论的方式让大家知道如何在Seeds里面不停成长

2. 通过内部沟通,让大家都明白这一点

Phase 2: General Guideline is ready [target date: 2 August for 1st version]

3. Present it to Seeds Group

4. Living out the culture of Seeds

说了这么久,终于重新说回culture了。我对culture也有自己的想法了。我希望(还是我希望,呵呵)我们的culture是:Constantly Living the Bettlement of Seeds.

Jeff Wang

23 July 2009

What We Can Imagine, What We Can Achieve!

